31 March 2022 13:01

What is the highest rank you can get in Jrotc?

Cadet Officer Ranks

Pay grade*** C/O-6 C/O-4
Cadet Colonel (C/COL) Cadet Major (C/MAJ)
Cadet Captain** (C/CAPT) Cadet Lieutenant Commander (C/LCDR)

What is the highest position in Jrotc?

A cadet lieutenant colonel ranks above the cadet major, and the cadet colonel is the ROTC’s highest officer rank.

What are the Jrotc ranks?


  • Cadet Private (C/PVT)
  • Cadet Private First Class (C/PFC)
  • Cadet Corporal (C/CPL)
  • Cadet Sergeant (C/SGT)
  • Cadet Staff Sergeant (C/SSG)
  • Cadet Sergeant First Class (C/SFC)
  • Cadet Master Sergeant (C/MSG)
  • Cadet First Sergeant (C/1SG)

Who is the highest ranking cadet in a Jrotc unit?

*Commander: This rank is only acheived if you are in a unit that is a Battalion (151-299 Cadets) or bigger. It is the highest rank in a Battalion, only the Battalion Commanding Officer holds it. 6.

Does Jrotc give you a higher rank?

You may start as high as a Private First Class (E-3). The rank would be a non-rank (SMP) for ROTC students. If a BS is achieved the starting rank is 2nd LT. Depends on college degree, but most likely PFC is going to be your starting point.

What rank is above cadet?

Cadet second lieutenant is the first officer rank in ROTC, followed by cadet first lieutenant and cadet captain. The cadet battalion commander holds the rank of cadet lieutenant colonel, and the second in a command position is cadet executive officer at the rank of cadet major.

What rank is the XO in JROTC?

d) EXECUTIVE OFFICER (XO). The XO is 2nd in command of the Battalion (when there is no Dep/BnCdr). He/she will perform such duties as are assigned by the CO and will serve as the coordinator of Battalion staff activities.

What rank is the S 3?

For example, in a battalion, the S-3 would hold the rank of major (like the battalion XO), while the remaining staff officers are captains or lieutenants.

What rank is the S 3 in JROTC?

Battalion Operations Officer

JROTC / Battalion Operations Officer (S-3)

How do you get a higher rank in JROTC?

The following are the established requirements for promotion to a higher rank: Must have demonstrated outstanding performance in current rank. Recommendation by Chain of Command. Knowledge in all areas required of lower ranks.

What rank do you get after ROTC?

Army Second Lieutenants

Army ROTC graduates are commissioned as U.S. Army Second Lieutenants. They receive specialized training in one of 18 different Army branches.

Can I enlist as an E-4?

The following are U.S. Army personnel who may be qualified to receive the E-4 rank: Those who have passed the Basic Leader Course. Individuals who have been given lower-level supervisory duties. Recruits who are entering the U.S. Army with a four-year college degree and who also possess civilian-acquired career skills.

What is the highest rank you can enter the military?

All branches of the U.S. Armed Forces use designations from E-1 to E-9 for enlisted soldiers and O-1 to O-10 for commissioned officers, though the titles associated with each rank, or pay grade, may be different. In the U.S. Army, the highest possible rank for a new enlistee is E-4, or Specialist (SPC).

What are Army ranks from highest to lowest?

There are 13 enlisted Army ranks: private, private second class, private first class, specialist, corporal, sergeant, staff sergeant, sergeant first class, master sergeant, first sergeant, sergeant major, command sergeant major and sergeant major of the Army.

What are the ranks in the military lowest to highest?

Officer Ranks

  • Second Lieutenant. Typically the entry-level rank for most commissioned officers. …
  • First Lieutenant. A seasoned lieutenant with 18 to 24 months of service. …
  • Captain. …
  • Major. …
  • Lieutenant Colonel. …
  • Colonel. …
  • Brigadier General. …
  • Major General.

What is the lowest rank in the Army?


Private is the lowest rank. Most Soldiers receive this rank during Basic Combat Training. This rank does not carry an insignia. Enlisted Soldiers generally receive this rank after either completion of Basic Combat Training, or six months of Army service.

Can you skip ranks in the military?

A battlefield promotion (or field promotion) is an advancement in military rank that occurs while deployed in combat. A standard field promotion is advancement from current rank to the next higher rank; a “jump-step” promotion allows the recipient to advance by two ranks.

Why are private soldiers called privates?

Etymology. The term derives from the medieval term “private soldiers” (a term still used in the British Army), denoting individuals who were either hired, conscripted, or mustered into service by a feudal nobleman commanding a battle group of an army.

Who is the only 6 star general?

So yes, there is an equivalent of a six-star general rank on the books in the US Military, but it has only been given to two people in history: John J. Pershing and George Washington, Generals of the Armies of the United States of America.

Who was a 7 star general?

No person have ever been awarded or promoted to a seven-star rank, although some commentators might argue that General George Washington posthumously became a seven-star general in 1976 (see Part Seven).

Is there a 10 star general?

In the US, a General of the Army ranks above generals and is equivalent to a fleet admiral and a general of the Air Force.
General of the Army (United States)

General of the Army
Abbreviation GA
Rank Five-star
NATO rank code OF-10
Non-NATO rank Five-star rank

Is 4 star general the highest rank?

The highest rank in the Army, Air Force, and Marine Corps is General (four star), followed by Lieutenant General (three star), Major General (two star) and Brigadier General (one star).

Is major a high rank?

major, a military rank standing above captain. It is the lowest field-grade rank. The term was originally used adjectivally in the title sergeant major, the third principal officer in a regiment.

What’s higher than a general?

General, lieutenant general, and major general are the first, second, and third grades of general officers in many armies. The United States Army, Air Force, and Marines have a fourth general officer grade, brigadier general (brigadier in the British Army).

How do you become a 5 star general?

Traditionally, five-star ranks are granted to distinguished military commanders for notable wartime victories and/or in recognition of a record of achievement during the officer’s career, whether in peace or in war.

What rank was Patton?


George S. Patton
Allegiance United States
Service/branch United States Army
Years of service 1909–1945
Rank General

How long can a general stay in the military?

General ranks may also be given by act of Congress but this is extremely rare. The standard tour for most general positions is three years, bundled as a two-year term plus a one-year extension, with the following exceptions: Service chiefs serve for four years in one four-year term.