2 April 2022 10:30

How often is the enrolled agent exam given?

You may take each part up to four times during the test window. The current test window is May 1, 2022 to February 28, 2023. Testing is unavailable during the months of March and April while the examination is being updated.

How many times can you take the EA?

The EA Exam is quite unique, in that you can register to retake a failed EA exam part in just 24 hours. You can actually take the Exam four times within one testing window, but if you fail each time, you do have to wait for the next testing window.

What is the hardest part of the Enrolled Agent exam?

Business section

The Business section is considered the hardest among most tax preparers and often gives Enrolled Agent candidates anxiety. Due to its reputation, candidates will take Part 2 after passing at least one of the other two sections, meaning that candidates are more likely to have a study strategy in place before starting.

How much does the EA exam cost?

The Enrolled Agent exam has 3 parts, and you must pay a testing fee for each one. The EA exam testing fee is $181.94. You must pay this fee when you schedule the Enrolled Agent exam at a Prometric testing center. Prometric accepts MasterCard, Visa, American Express, and electronic checks.

Is the EA exam difficult?

The pass rate on the SEE varies for each of the three parts of the exam. The most difficult test for most candidates is Part 2 (Businesses). Only about 60% of exam takers have passed this part in the past three years.
EA Exam Pass Rates.

Section Rate
Part 1 75-80%
Part 2 60%
Part 3 90%

Is enrolled agent worth it?

Individuals who are considering a new career path may find that becoming an enrolled agent is the right choice. Offering excellent job security and the opportunity to have jurisdiction throughout the United States, the position of enrolled agent can provide a good salary along with a rewarding career.

How long should you study for EA exam?

How much time should I expect to review the Enrolled Agent study material? Depending on experience, you should expect to invest up to 40-70 hours of total study time for each exam part.

Is EA exam easier than CPA?

Taking the EA exam is faster than taking the CPA Exam.

The EA questions are easier, so most candidates only need a few months to pass the EA exam as opposed to the 12-18 months typically needed to pass the CPA Exam.

How do I study for the enrolled agent exam?

6 Tips for Passing the Enrolled Agent Exam (On Your First Try!)

  1. Get a Review Course Specifically for the Enrolled Agent Exam. …
  2. Be Aware of Any New Material. …
  3. KNOW the Fundamentals. …
  4. Memorize Basic Tax Formulas. …
  5. Get Familiar with Prometric’s Exam Day Expectations. …
  6. Learn to Budget Your Time (And Learn When to Move On)

How long does it take to become a EA?

How long does it take to become an enrolled agent? Generally, it takes about a month to prepare for each part of the enrolled agent exam (between 3-4 months total). Of course, the length of your journey to become an enrolled agent depends on your prior tax experience.

How fast can you pass the EA exam?

Depending on your tax knowledge, becoming an enrolled agent can take 3-8 months. You may hear some enrolled agents boast that the EA exam is easy and they passed it in just a few weeks. Yet, the reality is that most candidates are not able to pass in 1 month.

How long does it take to pass the EA?

You have two years* to pass all three parts of the EA exam, so while you do not technically need to pass all three in the same year, many candidates want to pass before tax season to get more clients.

Average time spent studying per part of the EA exam
Part 1 85 hours
Part 2 125 hours
Part 3 55 hours

Can enrolled agents prepare financial statements?

Enrolled Agents:

are generally limited to preparing taxes and tax resolution. cannot prepare and sign financial statements.

How many enrolled agents are there in the US?

about 53,700

Because of the expertise necessary to become an enrolled agent and the requirements to maintain the license, there are only about 53,700 practicing enrolled agents.

How many exams does an enrolled agent have?


Individuals wishing to become an IRS Enrolled Agent must take and pass the Special Enrollment Exam (SEE). The SEE is a comprehensive three-part exam. Candidates may take the three exam parts (Individuals; Businesses; and Representation, Practices, and Procedures) in any order.

How many CPE hours are required for enrolled agents?

How many continuing education hours must enrolled agents obtain? Enrolled agents must obtain 72 hours of continuing education every three years. A minimum of 16 hours must be earned per year, two of which must be on ethics. Enrolled agents must use an IRS approved CE provider.

How many questions do you have to get right on the EA exam?

How much do you need to score to pass the Enrolled Agent exam? The scale for the EA exam score ranges from 40 to 130. The EA exam passing score is 105. The foundation of your EA score is the number of the 85 operational questions you answer correctly.

What order should I take the enrolled agent exam?

Technically, you can take the three parts of the EA exam in any order. We recommend you take them in their natural order 1-2-3. You should save Part 3 for last, regardless, because your prep for Parts 1 and 2 will help you on Part 3.

How do you schedule EA?

You can schedule an examination appointment at any time online at Prometric.com/see; by calling 800-306-3926 (toll-free) or 443-751-4193 (toll), Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 9 p.m. (ET); or by submitting Form 2587. The fee is paid at the time of appointment scheduling.

What is the difference between an enrolled agent and a CPA?

EAs and CPAs are both knowledgeable, experienced professionals who are required to maintain high ethical standards. The primary difference between an EA vs CPA is that EAs specialize in taxation, and CPAs can specialize in taxation and more.

What are the 3 parts of the EA exam?

The exam is comprised of three parts:

  • Part 1 – Individuals.
  • Part 2 – Businesses.
  • Part 3 – Representation, Practice and Procedures.

What is an IRS enrolled agent?

An enrolled agent is a person who has earned the privilege of representing taxpayers before the Internal Revenue Service by either passing a three-part comprehensive IRS test covering individual and business tax returns, or through experience as a former IRS employee.

What is on Part 1 of the EA exam?

Syllabus: Enrolled Agent Exam Part 1

It will address the topics of individual and business taxation. Because the tax code is basically a list of rules, passing Part 1 involves memorizing the tax code, applying the tax code to various tax filings, and using the tax code to make specific tax interpretations.

What is the IRS Special Enrollment Examination?

The IRS Special Enrollment Examination (SEE) consists of multiple-choice questions that test the knowledge and skills required for an Enrolled Agent. These sample test questions have never been used on any current or prior SEE.

Is the EA exam multiple-choice?

The exam consists of 5 separate sections and candidates have 3.5 hours to complete it. The EA exam is a multiple choice exam with four possible answers for each question.

How do you earn EA?

The IRS lists three steps to becoming an enrolled agent:

  1. Obtain a PTIN through the IRS.
  2. Schedule and pass the EA licensing exam. Candidates can then apply for enrollment through the IRS website.
  3. Undergo a background check. Background checks look at income tax history and any criminal background.