26 April 2022 12:07

How long is the Maine State Police Academy?

18 weeks18 weeks long, and after competing basic, Troopers return to the Academy for an additional 10 weeks of training.

How long does it take to become a police officer in Maine?

If you are hired by an agency as a full time law enforcement officer you will need to attend the 18-week Basic Law Enforcement Training Program within one year of employment. This 18-week program is a residential program.

How much is the police Academy in Maine?

The fee for this course is $350. Age: Students must be 21 years old, or 20 years old with at least 60 credits from an accredited college, or age 19, currently enrolled in an accredited post secondary education program, with at least 40 credit hours.

How much do state troopers make in Maine?

The reason is clear . . . only the finest men and women are selected to wear the uniform and badge of the Maine State Trooper. Troopers begin their career with a salary based on an annual rate of $51064.00 which progresses through seniority steps to $67,808.00.

How long is most police academy?

about 13 to 19 weeks

The duration of the training in the Police Academy varies for the different agencies. It usually takes about 13 to 19 weeks on average but can last up to six months. Note that it is possible to complete the Police Academy prior to applying for a police officer.

Do you need a degree to be a cop in Maine?

Minimum Qualifications

Education: An applicant must be a high school graduate or hold an equivalency certificate (GED) issued by the State Department of Education. Conduct: Reputation must be above reproach. Applicants must have no serious criminal or extensive motor vehicle records.

How do I become a detective in Maine?

Becoming a Detective with the Maine State Police Criminal Investigation and Forensics Division

  1. Be at least 21 years old, or 20 years old if an applicant has completed 60 college credits.
  2. Hold a valid Maine driver’s license.
  3. Pass a background check of criminal and moral history.
  4. Pass the written ALERT test.

What is the alert test in Maine?

The ALERT Examination is a reading comprehension and writing skills test. It is used to ensure that applicants to the Law Enforcement Pre-Service and the Basic Law Enforcement Training Program have the requisite reading and writing skills to complete the programs and function as a law enforcement officer.

How do I become a Maine reserve police officer?

Contact the Maine Criminal Justice academy at 207-877-8000 and complete the online Phase I testing. A valid driver’s license is required. A high school diploma or equivalent. The Law enforcement Pre-service School (LEPS) is not required but preferred.

How many Maine state troopers are there?

288

Maine State Police
General nature Civilian police
Operational structure
Headquarters Augusta, Maine
Troopers 288 (as of 2021)

What state has the highest paid state troopers?

California

Best-Paying States for Patrol Officers
The states and districts that pay Patrol Officers the highest mean salary are California ($107,440), New Jersey ($90,700), Alaska ($88,120), Washington ($82,740), and Hawaii ($81,460).

Which state has the best state police?

5 Best States to be a Police Officer

  1. California. California ranked in the top five in two of Wallethub’s metrics, opportunity & competition and job hazards & protections. …
  2. Connecticut. …
  3. Maryland. …
  4. District of Columbia. …
  5. Ohio.

What do the Maine State Police do?

Troopers patrol Maine’s Highways and provide full service law enforcement services to the citizens and visitors throughout the State. Detectives investigate homicides, child abuse and other major crimes.

How many state police officers are in Maine?

Sworn Personnel

There were 302 sworn officers employed by the Maine State Police. The ratio of officers per 1,000 population in rural areas is 1.34. Statewide, there were 2,278 full-time sworn law enforcement officers. The total complement of officers represents a rate of 1.71 officers per 1,000 population.

Who is the head of the Maine State Police?

Colonel John E. Cote

Welcome from Colonel John E. Cote | Maine State Police.

How much do NH state troopers make?

Salary / Benefits

The starting salary for the State Police Trooper I position is $53,913.60. Salary listed does not include $25.00 per week diverse duty pay ($1300.00 annually).

How much does a Vermont state trooper make?

Effective January 2022, the salary for a newly hired trooper is $54,741. After six months, the salary increases to $57,333 and with the completion of probation at the end of the first year, the salary will be $61,893.

What does it take to be a state trooper?

State troopers are uniformed and sworn law enforcement officers. The minimum requirement for a position with the state police includes being at least 21 years of age and the possession of a high school diploma or GED, but many states recommend that candidates for trooper school have an associate’s degree or higher.

How much does a state trooper make in NY?

Average New York State Police State Trooper yearly pay in the United States is approximately $76,222, which is 31% above the national average.

How much do Texas state troopers make?

$49,251 an year

As of Apr 14, 2022, the average annual pay for a State Trooper in Texas is $49,251 an year.

How much do Florida state troopers make?

How much does a State Trooper make in Florida? As of Apr 18, 2022, the average annual pay for a State Trooper in Florida is $45,062 an year. Just in case you need a simple salary calculator, that works out to be approximately $21.66 an hour. This is the equivalent of $867/week or $3,755/month.

How much do PA police make?

Average Commonwealth of Pennsylvania State Trooper yearly pay in the United States is approximately $69,840, which is 20% above the national average.

How much does a PA state trooper make a year?

How much does a State Trooper at Pennsylvania State Police make? The typical Pennsylvania State Police State Trooper salary is $80,611 per year. State Trooper salaries at Pennsylvania State Police can range from $65,535 – $115,282 per year.

How long is the Pennsylvania State Police Academy?

Cadets learn to meet and exceed seemingly impossible challenges. However, those who make it through the grueling 26 week program earn the rank of Pennsylvania State Trooper and embark on the career of a lifetime.

Adblock
detector