30 March 2022 3:07

How do I renew my Mississippi nursing license?

Registered nurses can renew their RN license in Mississippi by submitting a renewal application via the Nurse Gateway portal and paying the RN license fee during the renewal period, from September 1 – December 31, in even-numbered years.

When can I renew my RN license in MS?

Renewal: Renewal is required every odd year. Requirements for renewal are the successful completion of 10 continuing education contact hours for an expanded license, and payment of a $60 renewal fee.

How many CEUS do Mississippi Nurses need?


RNs licensed in Mississippi shall complete a minimum of twenty (20) contact hours of accepted continuing education per renewed licensure period.

How often and when must LPNS in MS renew their license?

two years

The license period is for two years based upon the renewal cycle of the license. Renewal begins September 1 through December of each year. LPN renewal is every ODD numbered year and RN renewal is every EVEN numbered year.

How do I contact the Mississippi Board of Nursing?

Please contact the Board office at 601-957-6300 or e-mail [email protected] to request this application.

Does Mississippi State have a nursing program?

Mississippi State University does not have a nursing program so students typically apply to The Mississippi University for Women in Columbus, MS or University of Mississippi’s School of Nursing in Jackson, MS.

What does MS RN stand for?

Master of Science: The Most Popular Choice for Today’s Nurses. At the other end of the spectrum from an M.A. degree is the Master of Science, which is historically regarded as the more practically applied degree in higher education. This means that many M.S.N.

How many CEUS do LPNS need in Mississippi?

LPN’s licensed in Mississippi shall complete a minimum of twenty (20) contact hours of accepted continuing education per renewed licensure period.

Can RNs place arterial lines?

Registered nurses (RNs) are licensed healthcare professionals who provide skilled patient care and coordinate their care. RNs must have additional training to insert arterial lines.

How many times can you take the Nclex in Mississippi?

Mississippi State allows candidates up to 6 chances within two years of graduation to pass the NCLEX. You must wait at least 46 days to retake the exam.

What does the MS board of nursing do?

The Mississippi Board of Nursing is a Mississippi state agency charged with protecting the public through the regulation of the practice of nursing within the state. As part of its responsibilities, the Board implements the Mississippi Nurse Practice Law by issuing rules and regulations through the Administrative Code.

How are nurses licensed in Mississippi?

The Mississippi Board of Nursing is a consumer protection agency with authority to regulate the practice of nursing through licensure as provided for by the Mississippi State Code. The Mississippi Board of Nursing is paperless. No license or certificates will be mailed. No hard copies are issued.

Can a felon be a nurse in Mississippi?

The Board of Nursing may, in its discretion, refuse to accept the application of any person who has been convicted of a criminal offense under any provision of Title 97 of the Mississippi Code of 1972, if such offense is directly related to the occupation for which the license is sought as provided in Sections 1 …

How do I check the status of my nursing license?

To check a nurse’s license registered with another Board of Nursing in the United States or its territories, visit the Nursys verification report. For help, call the Nursys license verification department at (312) 525–3600 or toll free at (866) 819–1700.

Is MS Nursing license Compact?

Mississippi is a member of the Nursing Licensure Compact and has been since the year 2001. Nurses who live in other compact states can work in Mississippi under a multistate license issued in their own home state.

How do I send my transcript to Mississippi Board of Nursing?

You may fax your inquiry to 601-957-6301 or send U. S. mail to 713 Pear Orchard Road, Suite 300, Ridgeland, MS 39157. Please indicate if it is an APRN, RN, or LPN practice question on your cover sheet.

What is the meaning of compact state?

A compact state in the political geography context is a state (country) in which the distance from the center to any boundary does not vary significantly. Compact states are one of six different shapes for states and are never perfect circles.

How long does it take to get a Mississippi nursing license?

Breakdown of Time-Frame to Obtain Nursing License by State

State eNLC? Time Frame for License
Minnesota No Temp: 1 business day Perm: 2 weeks
Mississippi Yes Temp: Unavailable Perm: 7-15 business days
Missouri Yes Temp: Same day – In Person, 2 Weeks – Mail Perm: 10-12 business days
Montana Yes Temp: Unavailable Perm: 30-60 days

What’s the easiest state to become a nurse?

Easiest states to become a nurse – Length of licensing process

  • Maine: 1-2 weeks.
  • Maryland: 2-3 days.
  • Missouri: 2 weeks.
  • Nevada: 1-2 weeks.
  • North Carolina: 1-2 weeks.
  • North Dakota: 1-2 weeks.
  • Texas: 2 weeks.
  • Vermont: 3-5 business days.

How do I check my CNA license in Mississippi?

You can easily do this by visiting the Pearson Vue website and clicking on “Registry Services.” You will just need to enter your social security number, first name and last name, or certification number to verify your certification status with the Mississippi Nurse Aide Registry.

Is Indiana a compact state for nurses?

The Indiana State Board of Nursing is pleased to announce that on July 1, 2020, Indiana fully implemented the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). Nurses are now able to apply for their compact license in Indiana .

How do I renew my RN license online?

  1. Open Nursing Council of Kenya Online Service portal NCK Online Service portal.
  2. Select Category or Student or Practitioner.
  3. Click on practitioner and enter Registration Number, ID number and email address.
  4. Enter your personal details and press save. …
  5. Click on the tab “registration and licensing tab”
  6. Is New York a compact state?

    New York is a non-compact state, meaning that if you are a nursing professional looking to get an additional license in NY, you must be granted a license “by endorsement” by the New York State Education Department.

    Is Hawaii a compact state?

    Hawaii is Not a Compact State

    This means that RNs must obtain a license by examination, endorsement, renewal, or reinstatement to practice nursing in Hawaii. All of this can be done through the Hawaii Board of Nursing.

    How much are nurses paid in Hawaii?

    Registered nurses in Hawaii earn an average of $104,830 per year (or $50.40 per hour). Hawaii registered nurses earn 31% higher than the national average salary for RNs, at $80,010 (or $38.47 per hour).

    Is Alaska a nursing compact state?

    Alaska is not a Nursing Licensure Compact state.